LEYLAND CC made it a clean sweep on the final day of the Northern League season with both first and second teams being crowned champions after recording comprehensive victories over Blackpool.

David Makinson’s first team went into the final round of fixtures four points behind their opponents and hosts Blackpool.

The Fylde coast sides experienced captain Paul Danson chose to bat upon winning the toss but he was soon left to rue that decision as deadly accurate bowling from Karl Cross and stand-in overseas player Brett Pelser tore into the Blackpool batting line-up.

Cross was in fine form, removing the Blackpool professional Daryl Mitchell for a golden duck when he trapped the Kiwi batsman LBW first ball before reducing the home side to 12-4 when he clean bowled the dangerous Stephen Twist also without scoring.

Pelser built the pressure further with his economical swing bowling and went on to pick up 4-22 while skipper Makinson claimed two wickets including that of the Blackpool top scorer Tom Jefferson for 17 and Ross Bretherton was on hand to take the final wicket as the home side were bowled out for just 63.

With the pressure of knowing victory would seal the league title Leyland began their run chase positively but lost Cross for 5.

Chris Parkinson hit five fours to calm any Leyland nerves that remained but he fell to Mitchell who also had Nathan McDonnell caught behind without scoring.

It was left to Leyland’s top run-scorer Henry Thompson and Pelser to guide their side home after 15.5 overs and spark into life joyous celebrations.

The championship victory is Leyland’s sixth overall and third in more recent times to go along with the success in 2010 and 2013.

Elsewhere, at Fox Lane the second team made it a double celebration as they clinched the Division Two title with a 67-run victory over Blackpool.

The scenario was the reverse of Division One with Leyland holding a four point advantage over Blackpool going into the game, but Ian Farrington’s side made a solid start to their innings as they progressed to 75 without loss before Tom Reece was dismissed for 42.

Some tight bowling from Blackpool’s seam bowlers helped restrict Leyland to 153-8.

The Blackpool reply was blown apart by superb bowling from Steven Pallett and Andrew Jacques who each took four wickets to leave the Fylde coast team reeling on 31-8. Some stoic resistance from Stuart Ashford took his side to 86 before they were bowled out and Leyland’s second string were able to claim their sixth title victory in the last seven seasons.

Club chairman Ian Farrington said: “We are very proud to win both divisions of the Northern League this season.

"We did so with a core group of players who have shown fantastic commitment and dedication throughout the season.

"The victories were enjoyed by everyone involved in the club and are reward for the effort that has gone into the season both on and off the pitch.”