CHORLEY and Darwen will try again to start their Northern League campaigns after the opening round of fixtures was postponed due to weather last weekend.

Ian Dickinson's Chorley side travel to Cumbria to take on Kendal, which means a return to his former club for new signing Saeed Bariwala.

The experienced all-rounder, who took 571 runs and took 57 wickets for the Shap Road outfit last season, will line up for the first time alongside new professional Wihan Lubbe.

The 23-year-old South African paid man is an exciting left-handed batsman and off-break bowler, who has played for the North West province since 2013.

Chorley chairman Peter Mockett can't wait to see both the new men in action.

He said: "We have been working hard since the end of last season, exploring many options, and in Wihan Lubbe we think we have a talented, young cricketer who our supporters will enjoy watching.

“Ex-Northern Premier League pro Brett Pelser has been of great assistance in securing the services of his fellow South African and the lengthy administrative process has been professionally carried out by our new treasurer James Lee.

“Saeed is a proven NPL all-rounder and will doubtless strengthen our side and a great signing for us.

“We are very pleased indeed to have made what we are confident will prove to be significant signings for 2016 as our move to take the club onwards and upwards.”

New skipper Dickinson said: “I'm totally committed to raising the standard of our team to the level where we will be challenging for honours this season and with these signings, together with our present pool of players I am genuinely optimistic that we can do so.

“We aim to bring exciting, entertaining cricket to our supporters at Windsor Park and to be competitive in all away games.”

Readers Cup holders Darwen are also excited about the prospect of a new professional this season.

The Towers open up against Blackpool at Birch Hall tomorrow with former Indian Premier League player Shrikant Wagh raring to go.

FIXTURES (Saturday): Barrow v Fleetwood, Darwen v Blackpool, Kendal v Chorley, Lancaster v Netherfield, Leyland v Preston, Morecambe v Penrith.